FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Univ. of Ark.) – Andrew Irwin, the defending NCAA indoor champion in the pole vault, has earned a spot on the 2013 Bowerman Preseason Watch List as released Wednesday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). The Razorback sophomore is the only underclassman recognized on the 16-man preseason list.

During his freshman season, Irwin won the program’s first-ever national indoor pole vault title with a school-record clearance of 5.55m/18-2.5 at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Nampa, Idaho.

He also swept the Southeastern Conference indoor and outdoor titles in the event. At the SEC Outdoor Championships in Baton Rouge, Irwin set the American junior record with a final clearance of 5.72m/18-9.25. Between the indoor and outdoor seasons, he reset the school record in the pole vault five times.

The Mount, Ida., native capped his collegiate season being named the USTFCCCA South Central Region Field Athlete of the Year. His list of outdoor accomplishments included being voted the SEC Field and Freshman Athlete of the Year, receiving First Team and All-Freshman conference honors, twice being named SEC Field Athlete of the Week and once earning SEC Freshman Athlete of the Week.

Irwin was also the SEC Freshman Field Athlete of the Year during the indoor season. Wednesday’s release marks Irwin’s second go-round with prestigious award. Placed on the list following his win at the NCAA indoor meet, he made four appearances on the Bowerman Watch List last year.

The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athlete in the nation. The award is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman. Past men’s winners include Galen Rupp of Oregon, Ashton Eaton of Oregon, Ngoni Makusha of Florida State and Cam Levins of Southern Utah.

2013 Bowerman Preseason Watch List (Men)
Harry Adams, sprints – Auburn
Curtis Beach, multi events – Duke
Jordan Clarke, throws – Arizona State
Omar Craddock, jumps – Florida
Derek Drouin, high jump – Indiana
Tim Glover, javelin – Illinois State
Kennedy Kithuka, distance – Texas Tech
Erik Kynard, high jump – Kansas State
Lawi Lalang, distance – Arizona
Alexander Ziegler, throws – Virginia Tech

(receiving mention)
Andrew Bayer, distance – Indiana
Mike Berry, sprints – Oregon
Diego Estrada, distance – Northern Arizona
Andrew Irwin, pole vault – Arkansas
Jack Whitt, pole vault – Oral Roberts
Chad Wright, throws – Nebraska

From: http://www.todaysthv.com/news/article/242464/189/Bowerman-preseason-watch-list-mentions-Irwin

andrew irwin Vaulter Magazine
andrew irwin Vaulter Magazine

Leave A Comment