Lavillenie looks for the missing gold

France have chosen 23 men and 17 women so far for the Championships in Moscow that open on August 10.

And the initial selections show the strength of their squad as they include Renaud Lavillenie, Jimmy Vicaut, Christophe Lemaitre, Teddy Tamgho, Eloyse Leseur and Myriam Soumare.

Lavillenie was the dominant force in the pole vault at last year’s major Championships, winning gold at both the European Athletics Championships in Helsinki and the Olympic Games in London before then becoming European indoor champion in Göteborg in March.

He has never won the world title, finishing third on the last two occasions, in Berlin in 2009 and then Daegu in 2011.

Vicaut’s run of 9.95 at the national championships in Paris last weekend – he recorded that time in both the heats and final – puts him second on the European Athletics rankings behind Great Britain’s James Dasaolu who ran 9.91 on Saturday.

Vicaut, his teammate Lemaitre and Dasaolu will be determined they can feature in the medals in Moscow in a 100m where Jamaica’s defending champion Yohan Blake has now pulled out because of injury.

Dasaolu is in a British team of 60 for the Championships.

Mo Farah, the Olympic 5000m and 10,000m champion, and defending world 5000 champion, will be going for the double again and he will be aiming to be the first Briton to retain a world title.

Jessica Ennis-Hill, who has not competed in a major event since winning heptathlon gold in London, has been named. She has earmarked this Friday’s IAAF Diamond League in Monte Carlo to make her season’s debut.

Ennis-Hill won the world title in Berlin and finished second behind Russia’s Tatyana Chernova in Daegu.

Germany have selected 55 athletes in their first wave of names – 26 men and 29 women – and they include discus thrower Robert Harting and shot putter David Storl who are both defending champions.
Their youngest team member is sprinter Anna-Lena Freese, who is 19, and the oldest is Olympic and European pole vaulter silver medallist Bjorn Otto who is 36.

The Russian championships began in Moscow on Monday but head coach Valentin Maslakov confirmed that all Daegu winners are pre-selected for the World Championships and do not need to compete in the trials.

Russia’s winners in 2011 were Valeriy Borchin (20km walk), Sergey Bakulin (50km walk), Yuliya Zaripova (3000m steeplechase), Olga Kaniskina (20km walk), Anna Chicherova (high jump), Mariya Abakumova (javelin), Tatyana Lysenko (hammer) and Chernova.

Leave A Comment