Lavillenie to lead team of 52 French athletes for World Championships

Olympic Pole Vault champion Renaud Lavillenie is one of 52 French athletes who will compete in Moscow at the 2013 IAAF World Championships on 10-18 August.

The 26-year-old will head to the Russian capital fresh from setting an outdoor French record of 6.02m at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in London. Having won European titles indoors and out, Olympic gold and World indoor gold, the World Championships title is the one glaring omission from Lavillenie’s medal collection.

He will be joined in Moscow by his younger brother Valentin, who cleared an indoor PB of 5.70m earlier this year and took bronze at the recent European Under-23 Championships.

Two-time Olympic 3000m Steeplechase silver medallist Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad is another of France’s main medal hopes. The double European champion set a European record of 8:00.09 at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Paris earlier this month and will be hoping to go at least one better than the bronze medal he achieved at the last World Championships in Daegu two years ago.

Sprinters Christophe Lemaitre and Jimmy Vicaut will both double up in the 100m and 200m before joining forces in the 4x100m Relay, an event in which France took silver at the 2011 World Championships.

Back in form after years of injury, triple jumper Teddy Tamgho has returned to top form this year and will be among the contenders to make it on to the podium.

Other medal hopes include long jumper Eloyse Lesueur, 800m runner Pierre-Ambroise Bosse, decathlete Kevin Mayer and European heptathlon champion Antoinette Nana Djimou.



100m: Christophe Lemaitre, Jimmy Vicaut
200m: Lemaitre, Vicaut
800m: Pierre-Ambroise Bosse
1500m: Florian Carvalho, Simon Denissel, Bouabdellah Tahri
Marathon: Benjamin Malaty
3000m Steeplechase: Yoann Kowal, Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad, Nouredine Smail
110m Hurdles: Pascal Martinot-Lagarde, Thomas Martinot-Lagarde
400m Hurdles: Yoann Decimus, Mickael Francois
High Jump: Mickael Hanany
Pole Vault: Renaud Lavillenie, Valentin Lavillenie
Long Jump: Salim Sdiri
Triple Jump: Yoann Rapinier, Gaetan Saku Bafuanga, Teddy Tamgho
Hammer: Quentin Bigot
Decathlon: Kevin Mayer, Gael Querin
20km Race Walk: Kevin Campion, Bertrand Moulinet
50km Race Walk: Yohann Diniz
4x100m: David Alerte, Emmanuel Biron, Lemaitre, Arnaud Remy, Vicaut, Mickael-Meba Zeze

100m: Stella Akakpo, Myriam Soumare
200m: Johanna Danois, Lenora Guion Firmin, Soumare
400m: Marie Gayot, Floria Guei
5000m: Sophie Duarte
10,000m: Christelle Daunay
Marathon: Carmen Oliveras
100m Hurdles: Cindy Billaud, Alice Decaux, Reina-Flor Okori
Pole Vault: Marion Lotout
Long Jump: Eloyse Lesueur
Discus: Melina Robert-Michon
Heptathlon: Antoinette Nana Djimou
4x100m: Akakpo, Danois, Celine Distel-Bonnet, Gaydu, Ayodele Ikuesan, Soumare
4x400m: Phara Anacharsis, Gayot, Guei, Guion Firmin, Muriel Hurtis

Lavillenie 4
Lavillenie 4


Leave A Comment