Senior pole vaulter Morgann Leleux capped off an impressive spring for the UL Ragin’ Cajuns as she was named the Louisiana Female Field Athlete of the Year and the state’s Female Newcomer of the Year as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) announced its top college track and field honorees from this past year.

Also the LSWA released its best times list for the past season based on national performance lists and submitted post-season results from the participating schools. Leleux was one of nine members of the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns track and field team that were honored for their respective performances during the outdoor season.

Leleux earned both field athlete of newcomer of the year after the New Iberia native transferred in from Georgia. Leleux, named an alternate on the 2016 U.S. Olympic Track and Field team and Sun Belt Conference Field Student-Athlete of the Year, earned first-team All-America honors after finishing second in the pole vault (14-1.25) at the NCAA Outdoors after winning the title at the SBC at 14-10 – the best mark among all in-state athletes. Leleux finished fourth overall at the U.S. Olympic Trials after clearing a personal-best 15-1.

She was joined on the All-Louisiana team by first-team members Claire Hodges, who posted the fastest time among state athletes in the women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase (10:49.24), and Franz Beyer, who posted the highest-finish (6,830) in the men’s decathlon.

Second-team All-Louisiana members included Bartul Basic (men’s javelin), Angus Sinclair (men’s decathlon), Kyle Baudoin (men’s pole vault) and Jasmin Fusilier (women’s heptathlon). Beyer added third-team All-Louisiana honors in the men’s high jump with Alex Harrell (women’s high jump) and Kaitlyn Moreau (women’s heptathlon) also being named to the third team.

On the men’s side, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake of LSU was named the track athlete of the year, while Devin King of Southeastern was awarded field athlete of the year. Jaron Flournoy (freshman) and Michael Cherry (newcomer) as well as Coach Dennis Shaver, all of LSU, rounded out those awards.

The female winners were Chanice Chase (LSU), track athlete of the year, LSU’s Kortnei Johnson was named the freshman of the year and Mike Heimerman of Northwestern State and Shaver of LSU tied for women’s coach of the year honors.





Leave A Comment