Zips establish five school records at Longhorn Invitational

AUSTIN, Texas – Five school records highlighted the efforts of the Akron track and field team at the Longhorn Invitational on Saturday, May 2.

As a team, the Zips’ men’s and women’s squads each posted second-place finishes in the team standings registering 121 and 76 points, respectively, to trail only host Texas in both fields.

Junior Shawn Barber (Kingwood, Texas) capped the record-setting day winning the pole vault with a school- and Canadian-record vault of 19-4.75 (5.91m) to win the elite pole vault. He bettered American record holder Brad Walker with a new world-leading and stadium-record mark.

Senior Claudia Garcia Jou (Barcelona, Spain) extended her own school record in the women’s high jump surpassing 6-2.0 (1.88m) to capture first-place.

Crossing the line first in the men’s 1,500 meters in a record-setting pace of 3:40.69 was sophomore Clayton Murphy (New Paris, Ohio). The mark is the eighth-fastest time in the country this spring.

Winning the men’s 4×400 relay was senior Sean Weems (Maple Heights, Ohio), redshirt junior Brent Gray (Cincinnati, Ohio), redshirt sophomore Mike Ohiembor (Dayton, Ohio) and sophomore Miles Baldwin (Cincinnati, Ohio) in a new school record time of 3:07.90.

Senior Alexis Cooks (Colorado Springs, Colo.) established a new school mark in the shot put with a mark of 53-0.25 (16.16m), while also winning the discus (174-7.0/53.23m).

Turning in the second-best time (59.22) in school history in the 400-meter hurdles was freshman Jackie Siefring (Covington, Ohio).

Posting the fourth-best efforts in the pole vault and 3,000-meter steeplechase, respectively, was sophomore Matt Rowland (Bellevue, Ohio) and redshirt sophomore Aaron Howkins (Stow, Ohio). Rowland eclipsed 17-3.75 (5.28m) to place third, while Howkins was fourth in 9:08.40.

Sophomore Dan Zupan (Berea, Ohio) won the 3,000-meter steeplechase crossing the line in 9:02.15.

Overall, the Zips collected 21 top-five finishes with the men and women accounting for 13 and eight, respectively.

The Zips return to action on Friday, May 8, as Akron hosts the Campbell/Wright Invitational at the Lee R. Jackson Track and Field Complex.


100 Meters: Rachel Christian (12th-11.65), Daniella Johnson (24th-12.00), Samia Bell (30th-12.37); 200 Meters: Rachel Christian (12th-24.02), Daziah Green (14th-24.16); 400 Meters: Daziah Green (10th-55.18); 1,500 Meters: Kayla Whitlow (16th-4:38.31); 100-Meter Hurdles: Skyler Willis (seventh-13.94), Jackie Siefring (13th-14.24); 400-Meter Hurdles: Jackie Siefring (third-59.22), Skyler Willis (sixth-60.50); 4×100 Relay: Samia Bell, Rachel Christian, Daniella Johnson, Daziah Green (fifth-47.34); High Jump: Claudia Garcia Jou (first-6-2.00/1.88m); Pole Vault: Claire Lucas (10th-13-3.75/4.06m), Caroline Hasse (12th-13-3.75/4.06m); Long Jump: Jackie Siefring (sixth-19-10.75/6.06m), Daniella Johnson (eighth-19-8.25/6.00m), Ana Martin-Sacristan (ninth-19-6.0/5.94m); Triple Jump: Weronika Gaudyn (fourth-41-0.25/12.50m), Ana Martin-Sacristan (sixth-38-10.50/11.85m); Shot Put: Alexis Cooks (first-53-0.25/16.16m), Megan Dornisch (11th-43-1.75/13.15m); Discus: Alexis Cooks (first-174-8.0/53.23m); Hammer: Megan Dornisch (fourth-190-0.0/57.91m); Javelin: Jess Delic (fourth-155-6.0/47.41m).


100 Meters: Bryce Cheek (11th-10.54), D.J. Williamson (12th-10.54), Jamir Coleman (20th-10.72); 200 Meters: D.J. Williamson (13th-21.31), Jamir Coleman (24th-21.81); 400 Meters: Brent Gray (sixth-47.21), Miles Baldwin (seventh-47.24), Mike Ohiembor (10th-47.97); 1,500 Meters: Clayton Murphy (first-3:40.69); 110-Meter Hurdles: Kyle Walker (fourth-14.12), Jordan Latimer (seventh-14.56); 400-Meter Hurdles: Sean Weems (seventh-54.13); 3,000-Meter Steeplechase: Dan Zupan (first-9:02.15), Aaron Howkins (fourth-9:08.40); 4×100 Relay: Julius Ruby, D.J. Williamson, Anthony Young, Bryce Cheek (second-40.13); 4×400 Relay: Sean Weems, Brent Gray, Mike Ohiembor, Miles Baldwin (first-3:07.60); High Jump: Mitch Cavalier (sixth-6-6.74/2.00m); Pole Vault: Matt Rowland (third-17-3.75/5.28m); Elite Pole Vault: Shawn Barber (first-19-4.75/5.91m); Long Jump: Jordan Latimer (second-24-8.25/7.52m), Jamir Coleman (third-24-7.25/7.50m), Joe Oduho (eighth-24-1.75/7.36m), Terrell McClain (ninth-23-10.25/7.27m); Triple Jump: Mike Ohiembor (second-47-8.0/14.53m); Shot Put: Maurice Harris (12th-46-1.25/14.05m); Discus: Maurice Harris (ninth-175-11.0/53.61m); Hammer: Zack Shull (fourth-189-4/57.70m), Phil Jagers (fifth-182-10/55.74m).

Women – Team Rankings – 19 Events Scored

1) Texas – 157

2) Akron – 76

3) Florida State – 73.50

4) Baylor – 56.50

5) Oklahoma – 56

6) Tulane – 44

7) SMU – 41

8) Stanford – 40

9) Texas State – 36

San Jose State – 36

11) UTSA – 24

Houston – 24

13) Lamar – 15

14) Utah – 11

15) Stephen F. Austin – 10

16) North Texas – 9

17) Incarnate Word – 8

18) Loyola-New Orleans – 2

Men – Team Rankings – 19 Events Scored
1) Texas: 129
2) Akron: 121  
3) Florida State: 106
4) Oklahoma: 79
5) Baylor: 69
6) UTSA: 39
7) Houston: 32
8) North Texas: 30
9) Texas State: 27
10) Tulane: 25
11) Lamar: 20
12) Texas Tech: 18
13) Stanford: 16
14) Tulsa: 10
15) Incarnate Word: 8
16) Stephen F. Austin: 5



Oct 5, 2014: AKRON, Ohio Mid-American Conference action continues as the Akron ladies  host Bowling Green at FirstEnergy Stadium – Cub Cadet Field at Noon.  The Zips stand at 5-5-1 (1-2-0 MAC) mean while BGSU is at 1-9-0 (0-3-0 MAC). Ernie Aranyosi /
Oct 5, 2014: AKRON, Ohio
Mid-American Conference action continues as the Akron ladies host Bowling Green at FirstEnergy Stadium – Cub Cadet Field at Noon. The Zips stand at 5-5-1 (1-2-0 MAC) mean while BGSU is at 1-9-0 (0-3-0 MAC).
Ernie Aranyosi /

** The articles that we post on this website are searched from the Internet and don’t reflect our views.  VAULTER Magazine LLC. is bringing the pole vault news to the reader in one central location. ***

Leave A Comment